She is charged involuntary manslaughter (NRS 200.070), which is defined as “the killing of a human with no intention to do so by committing a lawful or unlawful act.” Tyler’s father reported that Lauren prepared the drug and filled the syringe, and Tyler injected it into his arm.
As of this report, she has not been charged with the possession of the drug (NRS 453) or the paraphernalia (NRS 453.560). Lauren has changed her story several times since she was arrested, saying that she told Tyler not to take the drug, but he would not listen.
Tyler's friends told police that he smoked Marijuana and snorted coke occasionally, but he would never inject himself. They said he had plans for his life, to finish college and more. Lauren has been arrested five times previously in Clark County for a number of drug (NRS 453) and battery charges (NRS 200.481). She is presently being held in jail on a $30,000 bond.
The penalties for NRS 200.070 are one to four years in Nevada State Prison and up to a $5,000 fine.
With that, they snatched the keys, threw the woman out of the car and took off. But, as she was being pulled out of the car, her cell phone fell out of her purse and into the back seat completely unaware to the boys.
When Metro Police discovered that they simply used a "Find my Phone App" to track the phone, and they found the car was headed north. With the help of a Sheriff's helicopter, they followed the vehicle while officers on the ground pulled the stolen Malibu over. After that short search, the two carjackers were arrested and are in jail.
Nevada does not have a specific charge for carjacking, so police use a cluster of charges for this felony. The teens are facing charges of armed carjacking, robbery (NRS 200.380), aggravated assault (NRS 200.471, NRS 200.481) and use of a firearm during a felony (NRS 193.165) according to Metro police.
When there is no penetration, the defendant can be arrested for lewdness by itself, and the charge is automatically considered rape when the defendant has sex with a child fifteen or younger even if the child consents.
If the defendant is convicted of Lewdness with a minor under 14, it is mandated for the defendant to register with the Nevada Sex Offender Registry, and typically that is for life. It is important to know that a person may be convicted even if they were not touching a sexual organ because it is an invasion. NRS 201.230 specifically includes anal sex, “fingering”, sexual intercourse, oral sex and penetration with an object.
Nevada is serious about the sexual abuse of their children. For the first offense, the penalties are:
• Life in the Nevada State Prison with the possibility of parole in 10 years. But if the defendant has prior convictions of comparable sex offenses, no parole is available.
• Registry in the Nevada Sex Offender Registry for life.
• Fines up to $10.000
Sexual assault or rape can also be referred to as sexual battery but is also NRS 200.366. It is the same charge except that the sexual assault is between strangers. This crime is deplorable, and Las Vegas wants to spread the message that it will not be accepted in this city, so the penalties can be harsh.
It takes an experienced Las Vegas criminal defense lawyer to take your case to trial. The professional and personal areas of your life will be severely affected and a conviction will give you a criminal record, loss of employment, your savings and maybe the relationships in your life. Potter Law Firm has been handling these cases for 30 years, so if you need an aggressive lawyer for any of these charges, please call the office and talk with an experienced lawyer in our team.
Here are the different penalties when arrested for resisting arrest in Nevada.
1. If there is no substantial harm, the crime is a gross misdemeanor in Clark County, and the defendant will have up to 364 days in jail and/or up to a $2,000 fine.
2. If there is physical harm inflicted on the officer, the charge is a category B felony for battering an officer, and there is 2-10 years in prison and/or up to a $10,000 fine.
3. If the assault is committed by a parolee or someone on probation with no deadly weapon, the charge is a category B felony with 1- 4years in prison and/or up to a $5,000 fine. Use of a deadly weapon changes the charge.
There are defenses such as lack of intent and self-defense. If you need a criminal defense attorney, please call the team at Potter Law Firm for a free consultation.